Dainese wins stage 17 of the Giro in a sprint with photo finish

Road 24/05/23 17:06 Migue A.

Alberto Dainese wins stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia 2023 by sprint and photo finish. In the general classification, Geraint Thomas is still in pink after a 195 km route that was one of the last chances for the sprinters in the peloton.

Alberto Dainese takes victory in stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia 2023

After the excitement on Monte Bondone the day before, it was the turn of a flat and slightly downhill stage that brought calm back to the race.

Rain gives the Giro a break

The breakaway of the day was soon formed, 190 km from the finish, with Charlie Quarterman, Thomas Champion, Senne Leysen and Diego Pablo Sevilla. Four riders who were up to 3 minutes ahead, but were gradually swallowed up one by one by the peloton. The last breakaway was led by Leysen, who with 15 km to go still managed to maintain a 20-second lead, but his effort vanished just 2 km from the finish, coinciding with the sprinters taking their positions.

Everything was decided in the 600 meters of the final straight, where after a powerful sprint finished with Dainese, winning by just a few centimeters over Milan and Matthews.

In the general classification nothing changes and the British rider Geraint Thomas keeps the Maglia Rosa.

General Classification

  1. Geraint Thomas (INEOS-Grenadiers) 71:58:43
  2. Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) +18"
  3. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) +29’’
  4. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) +2’50’’
  5. Eddie Dunbar (Jayco-AIUIa) +3'03"
  6. Lennard Kamna (Bora-Hansgrohe) +3’20’’
  7. Bruno Armirail (Groupama FDJ) +3'22"
  8. Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) +3’30’’
  9. Thymen Arensman (INEOS-Grenadiers) +4’09’’
  10. Laurens De Plus (INEOS-Grendiers) +4’32’’




Subscribe to our newsletter and receive all our news. Mountain bike, advice on training and maintenance of your bike, mechanics, interviews ...

You will be aware of everything!

¿Prefieres leer la versión en Español?

Dainese gana al sprint y con foto finish la etapa 17 del Giro